Mr. Anjan Ghosh - Independent Director, Chairman

Mr. Anjan Ghosh, a fellow member of Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, was associated with J. Thomas group of companies, a reputed tea broking house in Kolkata for 37 years where he was elevated to Managing Director and Vice Chairman. Currently he works as a corporate consultant. He joined the Directorate in 2010 and assumed the office of Chairman in December 2023 after passing of Late Anuradha Farley, former Chairperson of the Company. He also serves the board of B & A Ltd.

Mr. Amit Chowdhuri - Independent Director

Mr. Amit Chowdhuri,born in 1949, is a Hons. Graduate from St. Edmunds College, Shillong. In his 43 years of career he has served J.Thomas & Co. Pvt. Ltd, a Calcutta based reputed tea auction house, in several capacities, including Chairman & Managing Director. He joined the Directorate in 2013. He is also a Director in B & A Ltd.

Mr. Basant Kumar Goswami - Independent Director

Mr. Basant Kumar Goswami born in 29th January 1935 is a retired I.A.S. officer, held very senior positions during his career viz. Chief Secretary, Govt. of Jammu and Kashmir, Secretary, Tourism, Government of India etc. He has remained Director in the Board of several reputed companies like, Jaiprakash Associates Ltd, Jaypee Infratech Ltd, Jaypee Development Corporation Ltd and serves the Board of Conservation Corporation of India Pvt Ltd, New Kenilworth Hotel Pvt Ltd, etc. He is also the past Chairman of the Tea Board of India. Currently he is on the Board of the holding company as an Independent Director.

Mr. Parthapratim Sengupta – Independent Director

Mr. Parthapratim Sengupta born on 7 th December 1962 holds a bachelor's degree in B Sc, B.Ed. (1st class Hons. in Physics) and is also a Certified Associate of Indian Institute of Bankers (CAIIB). He was a career banker in State Bank of India (SBI) having more than 36 years of experience in Banking and Finance where he held the position of Deputy Managing Director. Currently he is a Director in Unity Small Finance Bank Limited. He has Board experience in Yes Bank Limited, Asset Reconstruction Company (India) Limited, Universal Sompo General Insurance Company Limited and National E- Governance Services Limited as a Nominee Director. He was also appointed as Whole Time Director and officiating Chairman of the Board in Indian Overseas Bank during the entire tenure as Managing Director and Chief Executive Director. Mr. Sengupta joined the Directorate with effect from 1 st January 2024. He does not hold any shares in the Company. He is not related to any Director on the Board.

Mr. Somnath Chatterjee - Managing Director

Mr. Somnath Chatterjee, born in 1962, is a commerce graduate. He was trained in UK in the area of manufacturing of packaging products. He has more than thirty eight years of extensive experience in the area of finance, production, human resource and commercial matters in tea plantation and packaging business. Currently he holds the position of Managing Director in the Company and Managing Director in B & A Ltd, the Holding Company.

Mr. Dhruba Jyoti Dowerah - Non-Executive Director

Born in 1968, Mr Dhruba Jyoti Dowerah, graduated from Assam Agricultural University with a B.Sc. Degree securing First Class Honours in Agriculture. He completed a Field Management Programme from Tocklai and a short term Managerial Development Programme from IIPM, Bangalore in 1998. He joined B & A Limited, Holding Company in the year 1993 as a Management Trainee. Over the last 30 years with the Holding Company, Mr Dowerah has risen through the ranks to become Manager, General Manager, Visiting Agent, President – Tea Division and is currently holding the post of Whole-time Director in the Holding Company. Mr Dowerah is a skilled team builder. Mr Dowerah joined our Directorate in August 2023.